Jinrui wa Suitaishimashita

This freakshow. Call it Humanity has Declined, or Jintai for short. I mean, I had read up on this and heard that it was not all as it seemed, but I was HORRIFIED!!! This anime is a trap –the cute, innocent characters against a lovely setting hides this scary and utterly freaky whole concept of what people do during extreme times, and a terrible scenario. I’ll talk about the plot later.

Just look at this cuteness.

Why don’t be tricked. This anime is really cruel, they give you such cute characters with cute voices (I mean the seiyuus), but it’s all just a facade that hides the evil intents.

Basically, this is set in a long time in the future where humans have regressed and food sources are rapidly declining. And there are fairies in this show. Fucking fairies. (what is wrong with me?? I shouldn’t swear)

To be honest, I only watched one episode and about 5 mins of the second. But what compelled me to write this post is the sheer peculiarity of this anime. It’s so evil that it’s wickedness is seeping through and the cute animations just make it worse. You know like how during some horror movie they start playing kindergarten songs? The effect is something like this. Dude. I read mature seinen manga and I get used to the gore and the scary shit, but this one freaks me out. I think I just can’t stand the building tension.

Like, the whole concept of having headless, skinned chicken has been widely considered in our world already right? Because of vegetarians advocating for their cause, we try to find a method to produce meat that doesn’t harm animals and so what do we get? –I guess this anime is trying to show us the scary possibility of what may happen if we do conduct such experiments. The notion sounds good to both sides, but the result is…no. Just no.

AND THE FREAKING BREAD.

That sudden scene where this stupid piece of bread (supposedly made with carrot juice) suddenly starts tearing himself apart and the horrendously gory and insane amount of ‘blood’ that starts spurting out shocked me so much that I stopped the anime and took a breather. Damn it, it was at night. I WAS WATCHING THIS HORROR AT NIGHT! Which is precisely why I had to stop at 5 minutes for the second episode; you know what just happened? Some guy got separated from the group at the fairies’ secret factory (a building of terror and surprise), and if my memory serves me right, there was some creepily happy music playing. So no way in hell did I want to figure out what happened.

But I can say that the main character, the girl who’s some UN mediator between the fairies and humans, is the most intriguing character that I would want to watch, if I do gather the courage to continue watching this. She’s so sharp.

I mean, I like her, but since she was being so nice throughout, the sudden random flashes of this.. mature side was appalling. So what the hell? Now I can’t decide whether or not to watch this anime. One thing for sure though, if I do watch it, it’ll not be at night. And who knows, maybe i’ll have to grab a few friends over, if they’re interested. This anime is actually for those who seek deeper ideas, I guess (not me). Because I bet there’s so much about human nature and extremity/possibilities that they’re hinting at. And the sinister side beneath all the fluff; a wolf in sheep’s clothing, is possibly an analogy of our world. Idk man. Nothing is going into my head except for the horror.

The end. Watch it if you may, all I can say about this show is:

Very original, indeed. Creative in a weird way and cool for some people. What a pity for the cute characters, but at least they have good fan art. Like, really pretty ones.

I’m so confused..

Leave a Reply

